My Least Favorite Time of Year…

I have to admit that I have come to dread New Year’s Day and the first three months of the new year. I don’t hate this time of year because it’s winter. I don’t hate this time of year because I have to deal with idiot drivers who can’t seem to remember from year-to-year how to drive in snowy and icy conditions. I don’t hate this time of year because there’s less sunshine to help brighten my day.

So why do I hate it? Because it’s the time when diet companies, diet pill producers, and everyone around me starts pushing the irritating-as-hell concept of “skinny = good, fat = bad.” This insidious mindset is EVERYWHERE. TV, radio, billboards, magazines, snail mail, email, online, etc. I can’t seem to escape it, no matter how hard I try.

When I’m watching TV, even on channels that are obviously programmed for a male audience, I keep my remote handy so I can hit the mute button every time a diet advertisement appears. As you can guess, my thumbs get lots of exercise with that task.

Then there’s the radio adverts. I don’t subscribe to a satellite radio system, so I listen to our local stations. The stations that don’t have me inundated with offers of “free” fat-busting pills are the public radio stations. I listen to them until I can’t stomach all of the political shenanigans in the world or until I really need some music to keep me going. I also listen to morning radio shows to keep tabs on the local traffic, and sadly, there are more than enough of the diet pill offers during the morning commute to nauseate me for the rest of the day.

I get my fair share of spam emails trying to help me become skinnier, even if the companies attempt to market this as an attempt to help me get fit. Yeah, I can read between the lines and know exactly what you’re hawking – that all-elusive, rarely-achieved perfect body.

And then I get bombarded with it at work. Weight loss programs and contests, co-workers constantly bitching about good and bad foods, people in the hallway talking about having to exercise to work off that snack they just ate. If I have to hear certain co-workers comment one more time about not being able to eat something because it’s bad, I’m going to use that food item as a weapon and show them how bad food can actually be. It’s so damned insidious everywhere I go, and I was tired of it after the first diet company advert of the year.

April cannot come soon enough. That’s not to say that there won’t still be diet adverts on TV and radio or in magazines and online, but they will be significantly lower in number. The comments from co-workers will be less frequent. In the meantime, I’ll keep doing what I’m doing – ignoring and/or muting when necessary and blocking out the annoying conversations at work, and enjoying time with my family, friends, and furbabies.

4 Comments

  1. There’s a chocolate/confectionary shop in town that recently had a New Year promotion in its window. I wish I’d take a photo of it before they took it down. There were lots of diet signs with things like “I won’t touch chocolate”, “I will eat less” etc etc, over lots of yummy chocolates spread around. Then there was a sign that said “yeah, right” in answer to the first ones. Doesn’t sound funny, but it was pretty witty.

    • I think it’s witty, but the sad part of it is that people will “break” their diets for chocolate then later feel guilty for it. I’m really tired of morality being attached to food, and people buying into the concept that they should feel guilty for eating something like chocolate or feel morally superior for eating something like celery. If you like chocolate, then enjoy chocolate. If you like celery, then enjoy chocolate. Eating one or both of these does not make a person morally inferior or superior.

      If I lived near that chocolate shop, I’d have walked in and ordered a selection of the goodies. Then proudly walked around enjoying them. 🙂

  2. The advertisers really do run amok with the awkward diet crap this time of year, don’t they? I’ve been putting my head down and trying to ignore it, but the onslaught is so overwhelming that you basically have to disconnect all cables and electronics and never leave your house to avoid it. Like you, I will be happy when it subsides for a bit (before it ramps right back up in time for “bikini season omg!” *puke*).

    • Ugh, I forgot the craptastic bikini season. The diet industry will find any excuse to tell us why we should hate our bodies.

Leave a Reply

