Back Off My Big Fat Body

Some days someone else says exactly what I’m thinking. Today is one of those days, and Ragen has voiced my thoughts eloquently…

Dances With Fat

Photo by Richard Sabel. Photo by Richard Sabel.

Everyday I hear messages from society about my fat body. I’m told that it’s a sign of moral failing, laziness, it’s a shortcoming, it’s unattractive, blah blah blah –  the negative messages are incessant and ubiquitous.

I spent a lot of my life so intent on hating my body for not meeting the cultural stereotype of beauty that I never once appreciated it for what it did.  Instead of defending the amazing body that helps me do every single thing that I do every moment of every day, I joined in the chorus of disapproval that suggested that I should hate my body and do ridiculous things to my fat. I sold my own body out to buy into an arbitrary social stereotype of beauty, and a modicum of begrudging approval that was contingent upon my keeping myself down so that my detractors didn’t have…

View original post 546 more words

2 Comments

  1. Ragen does that a lot, doesn’t she? I spend so much time reading her blog, thinking “that’s what I was going to say!”.

    • She does. And she says it so well, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

